An agreement between Peru and Russia recently signed has come into effect. The agreement between the two governments was signed on November 13, 2010 in Japan's Yokohama.

Under the agreement, Russian and Peruvian tourists are not required visas for entry, exit, transit or stay on the territory of another state for up to 90 days within each 180-day period from the first entry.

Many states in Latin America scraped visa requirements for Russian citizens, including Venezuela, Colombia, Cuba, Nicaragua, Ecuador, the Dominican Republic, Argentina, Guatemala and Brazil.